Latest Post

Stockton puts newest fire engine into operation Unveiling of the oldest tree ever recorded in North Dakota
Help nominate the outstanding women of 2024

Do you know a phenomenal woman who is making positive contributions to the community?

The Cleveland County Commission for Women seeks nominations for the 2024 Distinguished Women Award.

The Women’s Commission will host its Women’s Banquet on October 9 at 6:30 p.m. at the LeGrand Center. The 2024 nominees will be honored during the event. Valerie Boyd is chair of the 2024 Banquet Committee.

The group aims to honor women who have made significant contributions to the lives of others and to the community.

Nomination forms can be picked up at the following locations:

Shelby: Eugenia H. Young Memorial Library, Chamber of Commerce and County Administration Building. Boiling Springs: Ruby Hunt YMCA

Kings Mountain: Mauney Memorial Library

Lawndale: Spangler Library

Belwood: Belwood Museum

Applications must be returned by mail to PO Box 1953, Shelby by July 18.

Members of the commission are: Betsy Wells, Diane Davis, Cathy Robertson, Debra Blanton, Mary Accor, Valerie Boyd, Joyce Coleman, Shirley Lail, Linda Martin, Robert Miller, Tanzy Wallace, Jill Camp and Christine Cribb.

Famous women of the past:

(1992) NC Senator Helen Rhyne Marvin, Joyce Cashion, NC Representative Edith Lutz, Martha Lee Scruggs, Rosalynd Gilliatt, Grace Hamrick, Doris Borders, Patty Dorian, Dorothy Edwards, Aileen Ford, Ellen Powell, Dot Roark

(1993) Chinetta Brooks, Arrie Ellis, Virginia Raymer

(1994) Marietta Floyd, Jacqueline Lavender, Thelma McVae

(1995) Nancy Abasiekong, Suzi Kennedy, Linda Thrift

(1996) Anganette Homsley, Dr. Lonnie Proctor, Elizabeth Shipley

(1997) Dr. Dottie McIntyre, Esther Plummer, Kay Archer Price, Betty Withrow

(1998) Julia Banks, Adelaide Craver, Anne Short

(1999) Barbara Brock, Erma Drum, Madge Wray

(2000) Rosaline Hunt, Emily Ousley, Jackie Rountree

(2001) Commissioner Mary Accor, Fay Webb Gardner, Katie Norris, Page Sherer

(2002) Beverly Shuford, Kathleen Hamrick, Ezra Bridges

(2003) Karla Haynes, Brenda Page, Betty Roberts

(2004) LouVerne McCray, Jane Bryson Blake, Bess Gardner Hoey

(2005) Betty Jean Mauney, Aloyse Jones, Annie Farley Dawkins

(2006) Margie Christopher, Shirley Lail, Phyllis Sims

(2007) Dr. Nellie Aspel, Lucille Evans, Mary Neisler

(2008) Shirley Brutko, Daeira Roberts, Evelyn West

(2009) Jo Boggs, Lillie Hinton, Zita Roberts

(2010) Sibyl Dixon, Jeanne Patterson, Suzette Ross, Elizabeth “Lib” Stewart

(2011) Lou Ballew, Helen Barrow, Elizabeth “Lib” Revels, Ruth Wilson

(2012) Annie Ross “Guynell” Beam, Dr. Collette Deviney, Patti Ellis Norman, Stella Neisler Putnam

(2013) Dr. Laura Bingham, Jane Cooke, Mary Degree, Dr. Jane King

(2014) Libbey Lavender, Dr. Linda Hopper, Betsy Wells

(2015) Dr. Shannon Kennedy, Sharon Martin, Marguerite Mebane

(2016) Gaye DeVoe, Shearra Miller, Macy Stinchcomb, Rev. Frances Webber

(2017) Doris H. Dedmon, Ramona Gash, Kathryn Hamrick, Kathy Wilson

(2018) Tropzie W. McCluney, Bess-Alice H. Phifer, Venita A. Roberts

(2019) Susan Allen, Betty Gamble, Dr. BJ Zamora

(2021) Carol Ann Hoard, Chief Lisa Proctor, Terrica Wingo

(2022) Amy Ledford Allen, Julia Clark-Smith, Councilwoman Annie C. Thombs, Sandie Dee

(2023) Tiffany W. Crank, Brianna Meagan Delany, Dr. Kendalyn Lutz-Craver

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *