Latest Post

Fantasy Football Rankings 2024 – Yahoo Sports Minnesota plans to sell school land in BWCAW to the federal government
Schedule, TV, streaming, concerts of the IndyCar Series in Iowa

The IndyCar Series offers double the excitement this weekend with two races on the 1.44-kilometer Iowa Speedway Tri-Oval. The 250-lap (360-kilometer) races take place on Saturday evening and Sunday.

Josef Newgarden has won three races in a row at this track, taking the 2023 doubleheader. The two-time Indianapolis 500 champion has six Iowa victories in his career.

Alex Palou holds a comfortable lead in the 2024 championship standings after finishing second to Pato O’Ward last weekend at Mid-Ohio.

Insider: What I liked (and didn’t like) about IndyCar’s new hybrid engine

Where is the IndyCar race in Iowa?

Iowa Speedway is located in Newton off Interstate 80, about 35 miles east of Des Moines and about 85 miles west of Iowa City.

Concerts by Luke Combs, Eric Church, Post Malone and Kelsea Ballerini at the Iowa Speedway

Luke Combs will appear before Saturday’s IndyCar Series race at Iowa Speedway. Eric Church will appear after the race at 8 p.m. ET.

Post Malone and Kelsea Ballerini will perform after Sunday’s IndyCar Series race at Iowa Speedway. The race is scheduled to conclude around 3:30 p.m. ET.

Schedule of the IndyCar Series in Iowa

All times ET; all sessions on IndyCar Radio, IndyCar Live and SiriusXM Channel 218

Friday, July 12

2:00 p.m.–3:15 p.m.: Indy NXT Training

3:35 p.m.–6 p.m.: IndyCar Training, Peacock

18:30–19:15: Indy NXT Qualification

Saturday, July 13

14:05–15:20: Indy NXT Racing, Peacock

3:45 p.m.–4:45 p.m.: IndyCar Qualifying, Peacock

8pm-10pm: IndyCar racing, NBC, Peacock

Sunday, July 14

12:00–15:30: IndyCar racing, NBC, Peacock

How does IndyCar qualifying work in Iowa?

Qualifying heats are 2 laps on the 1.44 km oval. Lap 1 is the qualifying heat for the first race; Lap 2 is the qualifying heat for the second race.

2024 IndyCar Series schedule

The times for TV coverage are ET

Appointment time Location TV/Winner
10 March St. Petersburg, Florida % Pato O’Ward**
March 24 Thermal, California*# Alex Palou
April 21 Long Beach, California % Scott Dixon
28.April Leeds, Alabama.# Scott McLaughlin
May 11 Indianapolis# Alex Palou
May 26 Indianapolis@ Joseph Newgarden
2th of June Detroit% Scott Dixon
9 June Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin# Willpower
23rd June Monterey, California.# Alex Palou
July 7, 1:30 p.m. Lexington, Ohio# Pato O’Ward
July 13, 8 p.m. Newton, Iowa@ NBC
July 14, noon Newton, Iowa@ NBC
July 21, 1 p.m. % of Toronto peacock
17 August, 6 p.m. Gateway, Illinois@ USA
25 August, 3 p.m. Portland# USA
31 August, 6 p.m. Milwaukee@ peacock
Sept. 1, 2:30 p.m. Milwaukee@ USA
15 Sept., 3pm Nashville@ NBC
*-Race does not count towards the season points championship; %-Downtown course; #-Road course; @-Oval; **-Josef Newgarden is disqualified on April 24 and second-place O’Ward becomes the race winner

IndyCar Series points standings

(Until July 7)

  1. Alex Palou, 329
  2. Willpower, 281
  3. Pato O’Ward, 249
  4. Scott Dixon, 248
  5. Colton Herta, 239
  6. Kyle Kirkwood, 224
  7. Alexander Rossi, 216
  8. Scott McLaughlin, 214
  9. Felix Rosenqvist, 192
  10. Joseph Newgarden, 186

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *