Latest Post

Why Rivian shares rose 10% on Friday Hank McGraw, member of the Vallejo Sports Hall of Fame, has died – Times Herald Online
Three Gators will be inducted into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame in 2024

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Current Gators track and field and cross country head coach Mike Holloway, former UF football player Scott Hutchinson and former UF athletic trainer Chris Patrick have been selected for induction into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2024. The announcement was made Friday, while the three Gator greats will be joined by five others (William Floyd, Linda Gooch, Ashley Harris, Tracy McGrady and Jan Stephenson) at the induction ceremony on Oct. 16 at the Kia Center in Orlando.

“We are pleased to recognize such a talented and accomplished class of individuals who have all made tremendous contributions to their respective sports,” said Ginger Kane, president and chair of the board of directors of the Florida Sports Hall of Fame. “Their contributions to their sports, their communities and their impact on the global stage make this a remarkable class. We are honored to welcome them as the newest members of the Florida Sports Hall of Fame.”

Mike Holloway – Athletics

Florida's Sports Hall of Fame

Holloway just completed his 22nd season as head coach of men’s track and field and his 17th season at the helm of the women’s team. 11 days ago, Holloway was named National Outdoor Head Coach of the Year for the men for the 7th time, en route to his 14th overall. Holloway, who graduated from UF in 2000, has led the Gators to 14 national championships (12 men’s and 2 women’s), including the last three titles in the men’s outdoor event. Holloway has 17 SEC championships, 32 top-five finishes at the NCAA and 94 titles in men’s and women’s national championship events. He has coached 12 gold medalists at world championships, and athletes coached directly by Holloway have won 11 Olympic medals. A native of Columbus, Ohio, Holloway was inducted into the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2016.

Scott Hutchinson – Football

Sports Hall of Fame

Hutchinson grew up in Winter Park, Florida, just outside of Orlando, and was a defensive end for the Gators from 1974 to 1977. Hutchinson played under College Football Hall of Fame coach Doug Dickey, where he was a captain his senior year, was selected to the All-SEC first team, and received honorable mention All-American recognition by the Associated Press. Hutchinson was selected in the second round, 38th overall, by the Buffalo Bills in the 1978 NFL Draft, and appeared in all 48 games for three seasons. He played 16 games for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in 1981 before ending his NFL career back with the Bills in 1983. Hutchinson recorded three sacks and three fumble recoveries in 69 NFL games and finished his professional career in 1985 with the Orlando Renegades of the United States Football League (USFL).

John Christopher (Chris) Patrick – Sports Coach

Sports Hall of Fame

Patrick was a highly respected athletic trainer who cared for thousands of student-athletes at the University of Florida during his 40-year career that began in 1970. He oversaw the expansion of health care from the original seven men’s sports to the current group of 21 men’s and women’s sports. With the introduction of Title IX and women’s sports, he hired the first female athletic trainer and helped develop the training program and facilities for women’s sports. Patrick, known as CP, left his mark at UF, outlasting four athletic directors and six head coaches and earning the athletic training facility at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium named after him.

While at Florida, he also worked with Dr. Robert Cade, the inventor of Gatorade, to further refine flavors, packaging and other creative product developments. The SEC established the Chris Patrick Award, an award given to the SEC’s most outstanding athletic trainer during the league’s sports medicine conferences. In addition to being the first athletic trainer ever inducted into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame, Patrick is a member of three other Halls of Fames: the National Athletic Trainer’s Association (1989), the Florida Athletic Trainer’s Association (1995) and the University of Florida Athletic (1994).

With Holloway, Hutchinson and Patrick, there are now 49 members of the Gators in the Florida Sports Hall of Fame. Below are the members of the Class of 2024.

The Florida Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024

William Floyd Football – Florida State 1990-1993, NFL 1994-2000
Linda Gooch Cheerleading Coach – UCF 1986-present
Ashlyn Harris Football – Professional Football 2009-2022
Michael Holloway Athletics and Cross Country – Florida 2003-present
Scott Hutchinson Football – Florida 1974-1977
Tracy McGrady Basketball – 7x All-NBA, inducted into the NBA Hall of Fame in 2017
Chris Patrick Athletic Trainer – Florida 1970-2010
Jan Stephenson Golf – LPGA golfer, inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2019

About the Florida Sports Hall of Fame

The Florida Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1961 by the Florida Sports Writers and Sportscasters Association to recognize and honor the state’s greatest and most notable sports personalities. Since then, the organization has inducted nearly 300 members who share their inspirational stories of struggle, perseverance and achievement as part of its mission to improve the lives of our state’s youth. In addition to our campaign to promote fitness and combat childhood obesity/diabetes, our mission also aims to promote and quality discipline and honor among our state’s young athletes. Our goal is to use the life stories and experiences of our Hall of Fame members to encourage and support today’s competitors. Hall of Fame member memorabilia is on display at the MidFlorida Events Center, 9221 SE Event Center Place, Port St. Lucie, FL 34952. Admission to the center is free and open to the public Wednesday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *